Analyzing What Learning Theory Truly Means!

This week we were posed with the following questions and asked to analyze where we are currently at in our thoughts versus where we were at in the beginning of the course

  • Now that you have a deeper understanding of the different learning theories and learning styles, how has your view on how you learn changed?
  • What have you learned about the various learning theories and learning styles over the past weeks that can further explain your own personal learning preferences?
  • What role does technology play in your learning (i.e., as a way to search for information, to record information, to create, etc.)?

After reading further on the various learning theories I would have to say that I fit into several categories of learning as opposed to one particular way of learning. I believe that I obviously fit the Adult Learner but that I also fit into the category of Connectivism as well as Cognitive Theory and Social Learning.

As I was researching the various learning theories, I couldn’t help but think of my own motivation to learn whether that be directed or indirect by using such learning sources as Pintrest, Google, Facebook, Twitter, or online classes and forums. I have my own motivation intrinsic as well extrinsic for choosing to expand my knowledge in various areas; whether that means I am learning a new recipe, crafting something new or learning a new technology or preparing for a new career in Instructional Design, I can’t hope but feel a sense of my own accomplishment when I become more familiar with a technology or receive a high mark on an assignment or when I receive positive reinforcement or accolades from my fellow classmates or co-workers.

As I progress further into the areas of Instructional Design and Technology I have expanded my knowledge in the areas of Blogging, Social Networking, Creative Software Programs (Captivate, Power Point, Audacity, Webspiration, Blender, Slideshare) to name a few.  Some of these technologies are new and others are more familiar. With the computer at my fingertips, I am poised to make my mark on the technological world!

Leave a Reply

